Fender Bender

by theclosetnarnian

Alright! Hello! I can’t believe I am back to another Monday because some of these days felt so long I thought I was backtracking.

Our Monday was a typical P-Day, including the requisite Lebanese food and shopping for groceries.

Tuesday after slogging through the morning as we had been for the past week we realized something had to change. I asked for a priesthood blessing from the elders and then Soeur Brimhall got one. We felt rejuvenated and ready to conquer anything thanks to the wonderful priesthood! So we set off to deliver thank you notes to members who had fed us. We were at an intersection and I was looking to the side of the car at a Videotron. Soeur Brimhall asked me what I was looking at and I told her that I was wondering why Canada still had video rental places (random and silly, I know). The light turned green and the car in front of us went. Another car stopped in front of it and so it stopped. We crashed into the back of the car in front of us.

While at first it looked like it was just the outside of the car that was damaged we found out later when the car kept stuttering and stopping that something was wrong internally. The next day we inched our way into a Monsieur Muffler and found out that the radiator, the heater, and something else had gotten punctured. The mission office arranged for a tow truck to pick up the car and the Lemoyne sisters drove us home. No one got hurt, of course, but our future is a little uncertain because if Soeur Brimhall gets her driving privileges revoked one of us could get transferred out.

On Thursday we walked two hours to another city (our area is about 8 cities) for service, and then two hours back. However, the difficulty was mended through chocolate and prayer. On Friday we walked to members’ homes in our city after walking to get a bus pass.  Walking is fun though, it feels very old-school missionary, like Brigham Young or Samuel Smith.  We are worried though for tonight because it is snowing so much it just looks like swirling fog.

I love you all and hope you are well!


Here’s a cartoon Meredith sent to her sister.

translation:  Nous sommes les missionnaires = we are missionariespenguin

