Sacrifice brings blessings

by theclosetnarnian

This week:

On Tuesday we had splits with the Sister Training Leaders. Sister Guevara stayed with me in La Prairie and Sister Brimhall went to Longueil. We passed by less-active members and were able to meet again with Stella, our recent convert. The Spirit was so strong in that lesson, but it always is when we meet with people who are anxiously trying to do the right thing, like Stella is. Soeur Guevara is on her last transfer, and she’s trying so hard to improve her area as much as she can before she leaves. I hope that I will be like that at the end of my mission — throughout my whole mission actually.

Wednesday after District Meeting we had a cool experience. While Soeur Brimhall was figuring out bus schedules I was calling less-active members. We were having some success with that so I wanted to keep going, but I kept having the feeling I should look through the book of people who had met with the missionaries in the past. I thought I should flip to a random page and pick out one name before we had to start planning. I looked through the names and thought maybe I should call Mary. I called the number and a woman answered the phone in English. After I introduced myself, she said “Well why haven’t you called me sooner? I’ve been trying to get a hold of you for months, but I lost your number!” What? She lives way out in the campagne, in the smallest town, St. Mathieu-de-Laprairie. We set up an appointment for Saturday.

On Thursday we had dinner with the Flynns after doing a service activity. The Quebecois are very healthy for the most part. I have had more tofu here in the past few months than I have had my whole life previous.

Friday we met with a less active member named Ginette. She’s very kind but sees our lessons as more of a Bible study. We’ll try to make it a weekly thing to supplement her Bible study with the Book of Mormon.

Saturday we had scheduled to see Mary but sadly no one could give us a ride. We’ll figure something out for visiting Mary this week. We also had a lesson scheduled with another less-active family, but they canceled at the door after we had secured the Branch President and his wife to come with us. It ended up being ok though, as we met with another less active member.

Still no news on our car.  There seem to be a lot of accidents in this mission, probably because of the weather. IT HAS BEEN SNOWING LIKE CRAZY.  We don’t actually walk, we plow through the snow. My thighs were killing me after an hour of walking through a 6 foot snowbank.

On Sunday we were singing the hymn Reverently and Meekly Now. The last verse is my favorite. In French it says, “Dans les cieux avec douceur, j’intercede en ta faveur. je suis ton plus sur ami, mon amour est infini. Sois toujours obeissant, doit, fervent, et vigilant, sois constant et plein d’ardeur, pour que je suis ton sauveur.”  {English translation:  At the throne I intercede; For thee ever do I plead. I have loved thee as thy friend, With a love that cannot end. Be obedient, I implore, Prayerful, watchful evermore, And be constant unto me, That thy Savior I may be.}

They are the words of a caring older brother imploring us to follow Him. I love the Savior. Nothing can give us more relief or help in time of need, nothing can make us happier, than following the example of Jesus Christ. I love you all!
Meredith

Meredith wrote a note to her brother Christopher this week about how to prepare for a mission:
“My tips for Pre-Mish:
1. Memorize the “Scripture Mastery” scriptures from the Old testament, the New Testament, The Book of Mormon and from Church History.  Here’s a link to 100 of these scriptures:  https://www.lds.org/manual/book-of-mormon-seminary-teacher-manual-2013/appendix/lesson-166?lang=eng
2. Watch “The District” Seasons 1 & 2 (A reality show about missionaries teaching people):  https://www.lds.org/callings/missionary/the-district?lang=eng
3. Learn how to be a good friend — learn to listen, accept criticism, and stand up for yourself.
4. Go out teaching with the missionaries
5. Learn family search.org — a lot of missionary work is also helping people with genealogy. https://familysearch.org/
6. Gain a strong testimony of Jesus Christ if that’s all you can do before leaving.  Actually this is the most important.  A strong testimony of Him is more powerful than anything else.”
