Six months out!

by theclosetnarnian

This week was awesome.  On Monday we had dinner at the bishop’s house, and on Tuesday we had a great lesson with our investigator Chimene.

Wednesday we had District Meeting, as usual.  Honestly I think all the boys should learn how to direct music. It is so odd, everything I learned in school or in music classes I am using on my mission. All of my art presentation skills, my music skills (besides violin), study skills, etc. I am using them all. It is a testimony to me of why we should develop talents.

Thursday we had exchanges with the Sister Training Leaders that serve in the Montreal YSA. They live right in the middle of the city, and it was my turn to go with one of them! We exchanged at the Laval Metro, and I spent 24 hours teaching lessons with one of the Sister Training Leaders. It is so fun to serve in the city but it really is so much more physically demanding. Stairs, stairs, and more stairs and running to catch metros and people everywhere. For now I am happy in Terrebonne. Even so, I loved the chance to have a sort of vacation in the centre ville.

One thing I am trying to work a lot harder on is faith and positivity. We aren’t teaching a lot, yet we know that there are people in our area that are searching. I am trying to look positively on every day, believing that Heavenly Father will put us in the path of ready people. I don’t think there is a single returned missionary or member missionary that would tell anyone that missionary work is easy or comfortable. If there is, I sincerely question their sanity. Missions are supposed to be hard, but with faith I can see how important it is for me to be out here, and I can really see how Heavenly Father is blessing me every day with so many miracles and tender mercies. If my mission has taught me one thing it is that Heavenly Father cares for each of His children in every aspect of their lives, in every trial, in every success, and even when they are downright stubborn.

Sunday we had an awesome Stake Conference. It was a broadcast for everyone in the North Midwest and Northeast parts of the US and Canada. I emerged out of the meeting with renewed vigor for member missionary work. It’s the best, you all should try it.

I love you all and hope you are well!

Meredith

