Meredith’s mission update of May 11, 2015

by theclosetnarnian

I don’t think I ever understood the saying “April showers bring May flowers” until my mission. It is so beautiful in Quebec right now, with all of the green and the flowers that have been hidden under slush for so long. We had several days of actual heat, which was bizarre for me.  I actually wore short-sleeves! It is definitely humid– sometimes I feel like I am wading in a bath when we are outside. However, today it is currently raining and a little cold.

Monday was just the usual Preparation Day, but Tuesday we had service all day and were rewarded with grilled meats and vegetables and a lesson with an investigator! I can’t think of a better compensation. Later in the night we had Ward Council.

Wednesday after District Meeting we met up with the Young Women’s president and discussed the needs of some of the girls. We had a miracle when on Thursday we saw one of the girls she was talking about out on a walk alone. We pulled over and asked if we could walk with her.  It was a lot of fun.

Thursday we did service again, and again on Friday we did service with the bishop’s wife. It was so hot. Literally, I was drenched in sweat for most of the day. Also, my companion and I have noticed a sudden propensity of mosquitoes which are in great abundance in our area because we are next to a river. Bleh.

Saturday we stopped by a member’s home to do a follow up on the Family Mission Plan. They fed us ribs and ice cream and then the daughter showed us her ball gown for the Quebec equivalent of Prom. It was so beautiful! It brought back all these memories of the dances I went to, getting ready and being so excited. We also played soccer. It was hot, sticky, and pouring rain which made things fun. I did ram into one of the elders though and formed quite a nice little bump on my forehead.

Sunday being Mother’s Day we got to talk with our families, of course! It was so nice even though I definitely used a lot of tissues. I love my parents so much!!

I hope you are all having a good week!

Love,

Meredith

