Meredith update of May 18, 2015

by theclosetnarnian

Monday besides the usual P-Day activities (emailing, shopping, and so forth), we mainly went contacting in a part of our area. While we were at a McDonald’s trying to talk to people (yes we do this) we were having surprisingly no success. Shortly before we were supposed to head home, the janitor came up to us and told us he knew everything about our religion. This is an interesting thing for anyone to say about anybody’s faith, but he went on to tell us about a Cegep (Cegep is the mandatory school level here in between high school and university) class he took about religions and how he knows about Joseph Smith, etc. It turned into an interesting discussion, and we were able to give him a pamphlet.

Tuesday was mainly finding activities, although we had a great meeting with our Relief Society president. She told us things we could do to help with Visiting Teaching in the ward and some of the needs of the sisters. Also (please don’t freak out everyone) I dyed my hair red! I was just curious and so I dyed it a dark reddish brownish color. I like it but I am looking forward to seeing my natural color soon.

Wednesday was Zone Conference! Yes one of those hallowed days in mission life where we are both spiritually and physically fed (for free!). Anyone who hasn’t looked at the Hastening the Work of Salvation website on lds.org and watched some of the videos really should. Yes, this is an invitation from a missionary (and not just because my awesome mission president is in a lot of the videos). Zone Conference took most of the day, not including the travel time to get back home when the elders accidentally led us off course.  My mission president is the Stake President in this video:  https://www.lds.org/broadcasts/article/worldwide-leadership-training/2013/06/a-spiritual-work?lang=eng&query=victor+p+patrick

Thursday we got a referral. Friday after Weekly Planning we taught a lesson! It was so amazing! We found her under the Potential Investigators list and finally someone was at home! She agreed to have three lessons (in our mission we are trying to have shorter but more frequent lessons now) this week and come to church next week! YESYESYESYESYESYES! Honestly a miracle. And she became almost best friends with the member we brought with us.

Saturday we helped out at a garage sale and then played soccer. I comfort myself during soccer time with the thought that I have many talents, and while I may not be able to face weathered soccer players on the field, I have definitely played some Bach and Beethoven on the violin. The only thing is, I make things worse for myself with the squeaks that come out of my mouth when the ball is coming near me. Super embarrassing.

Sunday we had church, and I played piano again! It went well, and a member told me he had been praying for someone who can play piano to come into the ward. So nice of him! We had a great dinner with a member and had some delicious chocolate fudge cake that can only be experienced to be described.

I love you all!

5-17-15 meredith by trees5-17-15 friends4-24-15 package from ann poulson4-13-15 tete4-23-15 another missionary w meredith5-17-15 elder5-17-15 dinner

