Meredith Mission update June 1, 2015

by theclosetnarnian

This week started off well with a lesson with our investigator Chimene. We read with her and discussed 1 Nephi 5. We do one lesson of reading with her along with two normal lessons.Tuesday we helped some people move, and I got my mail for the first time in about a month! Mail doesn’t come often, because it only goes to the mission home, so it is like Christmas every time someone goes to the island and comes back with packages and letters. After that we had two lessons, one with a little boy preparing for baptism and one with a less-active family.
Wednesday we realized we were without enough kilometres for the rest of the month. We have a limit and because our area moved from the town we live in to a couple towns that are about a half hour away it is easy to use a lot of kilometres. But we decided to take over the elders’ area for a couple days until June started to save what we could to be able to drive to the church building on Sunday. Quebec is a hard place to dress for, the weather changes all the time. Perceiving that it would be cold because of the rain in the morning, I wore tights, a heavy skirt, and rain boots. Unfortunately, it went to about 90 degrees in the afternoon and I was dying as we walked around the city for about three hours, talking to as many people as we could.
Thursday we had a decision: leave to go into our area and proselyte for the day or teach a lesson in a different town to our investigator the next day. We chose the latter. We were planning on just walking around until randomly someone in the ward asked us to help out in a bike relay for the next week, assuming we had bikes. We made a call to a missionary who used to serve in our area and she told us that yes, indeed, we had bikes, but they had been outside all winter and were fairly rusty. Anyone who is in my immediate family knows I am not a bike rider. I never really learned how to ride a bike without training wheels. I absolutely never ride bikes at home. I probably know how to surf better than I know how to bike (note:I don’t surf). I digress, but you get the point.
We drove home and discovered that one of our keys unlocked the bikes. Then we had to get to a store to get tags to make sure that our bikes wouldn’t get taken away for charity as per our landlord’s instructions. So we had to bike about 15 minutes away in the rain. I was terrified and I zigzagged everywhere but with a lot of prayer I got through it (with a lot of bruises, mind you). Sadly the lovely bag I bought for my mission did not make it.
Friday after Weekly Planning we had dinner with a family and taught our lesson.
Saturday we had to get to soccer. It was HOT. And humid, because Quebec. We were breathing in as much water as we were sweating it out. We started biking to a member’s home so that we could drop off our bikes there. They were so kind and oiled our bikes and gave us ice cream as we changed into soccer clothes. Their son decided to come with us to soccer so we sped off. Imagine this, family and friends: I, Sister Hanna, biked up a hill to play a sport that I’m not good at, and I enjoyed it. Missions definitely push you out of your comfort zone. Because it was so hot everyone was pretty languid to say the least. At the end we biked back to the member’s house but entered in right before a huge rainstorm. We had to stay inside with them for a bit and they fed us dinner. We love our members! When the rain subsided we biked home and contacted in the area.
Sunday we went to stake conference in Montreal (no we didn’t bike there). Then we went to a baptism for a little boy. His family had invited a lot of non-members and I got to practice my Spanish!
It was a great week! I love you all!

