Mission update of Aug 24, 2015

by theclosetnarnian

On Monday we did the normal P-Day things like buying food for the week and emailing. It was a day of blistering heat I will have you know. Today it is raining so hard it sounds like the War of 1812. There is a joke here in Eastern Canada: “How do you like the weather?”  “I like it” (or I don’t like it).  “Wait 5 minutes.”  Anyway. Then we taught a lesson to a new investigator at Tim Horton’s. Most of our lessons, as previously stated, are at public places like restaurants or parks, because YSAs often have to meet downtown during their breaks at work or after classes. So that is one of the most noticeable differences from my former time in family wards.

On Tuesday we taught some lessons, it was great. Wednesday we didn’t have any lessons for most of the day, but it gave us a great opportunity to contact people who had formerly been investigators. YSAs are so transient that most of them are probably in different provinces or Toronto by now, but we at least try.

Thursday we volunteered at the soup kitchen as usual. It is awesome because we get to help out and they feed us at the end, and the food is actually very good.

Friday we had some lessons that had us busing all over Ottawa to various malls. And Saturday we had correlation with our Ward Mission Leader to discuss the needs of the people we are teaching.

It has been a lovely week, but we are motivated to have an even better one this week. While I don’t write in detail about a lot of these lessons for sake of privacy for the people involved, I would like to say that I am so thankful for the opportunity to see people grow and change. The gospel is something that truly changes us, if we accept it and let it change us. I think if I have grown in one thing on my mission it is my love of the Savior. I have often felt His comfort as I am struggling with myself, with other people, or situations in general. He loves us and lived his life for us, and still lives for us.

I love you all!

8-10-15 hike8-10-15 meredith by lake 8-11-15 Meredith & comp 8-13-15 missionaries

