Merry Christmas from Canada!

by theclosetnarnian

image

This week involved a lot of hurried changes to the norm, the biggest obviously being my change in companion. She is awesome, and I am excited to work with her and see more miracles in the area. Monday we allotted enough time so that Sister A could pack! She had been in the area 10 months– her whole mission– so there were a lot of things accumulated.  In total she had 4 bags worth and a box for me to transport to the mission office later! But she got it all in during the course of one P-Day, which is a feat I have never been able to accomplish. We saw a light show at Parliament as a district and then headed to have dinner with a member. Probably the most delicious pad thai of my whole life.
Tuesday we had a flurry of appointments so that Sister A could say goodbye to everyone, investigators and members. And the next morning we woke up and went to the bus station. I was on exchange with the sister in Riverside whose companion also left for Montreal. At 5 we picked up our new companions and went back to work.
Thursday we had service at the Ottawa Mission. I got asked to play violin in the All-Mission Christmas Devotional, and so since Thursday I have been practicing whenever I can for that. It is an arrangement of “Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming” with piano, violin, and a male and female voice part (sung by two teams of elders and two teams of sisters). I am so excited!
Friday we had lessons with two less-active members and went to a presentation of the Nativity done by the Ottawa Stake. They have done it every year for 20 years, and it has become a sort of tradition for the community to bring their families to it. It is outdoors with real animals that you can pet after the show, and they serve free hot chocolate. It’s awesome. Seeing all the members and the earnestness they show in serving the Lord is so inspiring, and I just love them, so much. We brought some people to it that night and had some more come the day after.
Sunday was interesting. We had to do some paperwork things after church in the Family History center, and my companion needed to use the restroom. We left together, but as we were walking out I closed the door…and it was locked. All of our things were in there, our phone, keys, bags, the computers, everything. All we had were our coats. So we decided after panicking that we would walk down to the closest restaurant, a Greek place we had been to the night before, and ask the owner if we could use a phone. The only phone number I knew by heart was that of my last area, Terrebonne! So after trying to remember and actually getting it right we were able to call the sisters there, and they were able to get in touch with some people to help us out. The man at the Greek place was so kind, and we have decided to get some more food there in gratitude. I love you all and hope you all have a very Merry Christmas!

https://www.mormon.org/fra/cecile

https://www.lds.org/liahona/2015/12/be-at-peace?cid=HP_WE_12-16-2015_dPFD_fLHNA_xLIDyL1-C_&lang=eng

 

 

