Meredith’s mission update Jan 4, 2016

by theclosetnarnian

Happy New Year!

Monday we had a mad rush to get everything done, but I was able to write letters and clean so I consider it a success. We had a lesson with an investigator that lasted maybe 10 minutes because we had another lesson right after.  Maybe a record for shortest lesson on my mission. On Tuesday we had a huge snow storm, huge. We were practically swimming in snow. It hadn’t really snowed at all before, just a faint dusting at the beginning of December if I recall correctly. We planned for about a half hour extra of commute time between everything we had planned just in case. So many cars were stopped on the road, stuck in snow banks.

Wednesday they got most of the sidewalks and roads cleared, thank goodness. But all of our appointments canceled 😦 So we made do and contacted some former investigators. Thursday we served at the food bank for New Years Eve. Everyone asked us if we had plans for the night, not knowing of course that as missionaries we have to be home by 9 and in bed by 10:30 haha.
The next day we woke up and it was 2016! It is so odd to think that my whole year has been spent as a missionary and away from home, and even odder to think that at some point in this year I will leave my mission and never be a missionary in this way again. Once again, our appointments all canceled! But it was expected because everyone was probably getting over all of their celebrations.
Saturday we went to a baptism in Orleans. It was great. And Sunday was great too. The only downside to the cold I think is that my face is feeling very raw. I love you all!

